How long have you been in the industry? How long have you been at DEI?

I’ve been with DEI since the summer of 2012, so nearly seven years now.  Working here was my first job in the construction industry, not counting a part-time job at an architectural office while I was studying to get my Masters, and once volunteering 1 day a week for a year with Habitat for Humanity.

Where did you go to school/receive your training?

I received both a BA in Architectural Studies and a Master of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Washington.

What projects are you currently working on?

Right now, I’m wrapping up a large remodel and addition to a Buddhist monastery in Shoreline, managing structural design for several McDonald’s projects throughout the northwest, and preparing to start design on a new single-family home in Bellevue.

What was your first job?

Does babysitting count?  I suppose my first formal job was a paper route at an apartment complex when I was about 13.  It was a large complex, so there were a couple hundred papers to deliver each day.  When I outgrew that, I got a job as a sales associate at a software and videogame store at the local mall.

What is your favorite thing about being a structural engineer?

As an engineer, my job is to help people build the things they’re envisioning safely.  It’s really fulfilling to see those things take shape, and to know that the world is a bit safer for people because of the work that I did.

Where were you born/did you grow up?

I grew up in western Washington, out in Belfair and Silverdale.  It was a great place to run around in the woods and build tree houses.

What is your favorite way to spend the weekend?

Rock climbing or backpacking with my wife, Rachel. It’s become a bit harder to get out since our daughter Kira was born last November, but we still manage.

Where would you go on a dream vacation?

Everywhere!  My dream vacation would probably be to rent an RV and drive around the country for a month or two visiting friends, family, and all the hiking and rock-climbing destinations that we could fit in.