How long have you been in the industry? How long have you been at DEI?

I’ve been in the industry for almost 14 years, here at DEI for just shy of 8. 

Where did you go to school/receive your training?

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 

What projects are you currently working on?

I just finished up Garfield Condominium and the Ninth and Lenora Condominium. These are seismic study retrofit project.

What is your favorite type of project (e.g. single-family, retail, wood-framed, concrete, etc.)?

 I love performing seismic studies on older buildings.  It’s like solving a mystery.  You start with a check list, and then chase down each lead until you find the culprit.  Often construction drawings are old and hard to read, structural systems and materials are different than those currently used, and you need to use your intuition as well as your education.  After you chase down all those leads and solve the mystery, you get to figure out how to save an old building! 

What would you be doing if you were not a structural engineer?

If I weren’t an engineer, I would love to be a National Park ranger.  I love National Parks and being in the wilderness, and rangers get to teach children and help people, two other things I love. 

What is your favorite way to spend the weekend? 

Take a long run in the morning, brunch, reading in a hammock in the afternoon, and beer and board games with friends in the evening. 

What is your favorite structure in the world and why? 

The tree house I helped my dad build when I was in 4th grade.  I don’t think it’s still standing, though. 

If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why? 

I would be able to stop time.  I never seem to have enough time for all the things I want to do.